Iraq to be excluded from Trump’s travel ban: US officials

The Trump administration has decided to exclude Iraq from its list of countries whose citizens are temporarily banned from traveling to the US, according to White House officials. The move follows pressure by the Pentagon and the State Department to consider such a revision of January's executive order in consideration of Iraq's contribution to the war against ISIS, the officials were quoted as saying. The revised version, which will apply to citizens of Syria, Iran, Yemen, Somalia, Libya and Sudan, is expected to be signed within days by President Donald Trump. However, all valid US visas held by citizens of the six countries are to be honored, the officials added.   

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Comments containing incitement, libel or offensive language are barred under DEBKAfile’s regulations

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *