Likud primary chooses slate for general election

Education Minister Gideon Saar and Environmental Protection Minister Gilad Erdan top the Likud Knesset list after Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu according to nearly final results of the party primaries Monday night.
Next came cabinet member Silvan Shalom and the settlement leader Danny Danon followed by Knesset Speaker Reuven Rivlin, Deputy PM Moshe Yaalon and MKs, Ze'ev Elkin, Yariv Levin, Yuli Edelstein and Haim Katz.

Two women lawmakers Tzipi Hotovely and Miri Regev made it to the second ten followed by the far-right Moshe Feiglin, who won his first Knesset seat.
Finance Minister Yuval Steinitz came further down with Tzachi Hanegbi and Sports Minister Limor Livnat.
Party veterans, Benny Begin and Dan Meridor were off the list, as was Internal Security Minister Avi Dichter.
The Likud Knesset slate will be diluted by the joint ticket pact signed with Israeli Beitenu, whose leader Foreign Minister Avigdor Lieberman is placed number two after the prime minister. Other members will be slotted further down the Likud list.  Israel holds a general election on Jan. 22, 2013. Nov. 27 is the last date for entering party lists.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Comments containing incitement, libel or offensive language are barred under DEBKAfile’s regulations

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *