US announces new sanctions on Iran

The Trump administration Friday announced new sanctions against Iran, affecting 13 individuals and 12 entities after the White House put Iran on notice over its ballistic missile test last week. 

In a statement on its website, the US Treasury listed the sanctioned individuals and entities, some of which are based in the United Arab Emirates, Lebanon and China.

The announcement came after Iran's Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif tweeted Tehran would never use its military might against any country, except in self-defense, in reaction to US President Donald Trump's warning that Iran was “playing with fire,” at the end of his second week in office.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Comments containing incitement, libel or offensive language are barred under DEBKAfile’s regulations

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *